What's made you smile today?

Currently reading:
What's made you smile today?

Weren't they originally used by ex motorcycle riders (who tended in the past to be DIY) as if reverse was blanked off they could drive on a full motorcycle license.
As an apprentice I recall there was a lad in the village who had the pi** taken out of him, for driving his restricted three wheeler into his tight garage and then being stuck as he couldn't open the doors or reverse out.:ROFLMAO:
There were some strange driving regulations in those days. I had a 125cc Lambretta series one as my first "ride to work" vehicle, but was able to sell it and ride a 600cc Matchless G11 Super Clubman motorcycle complete with sidecar on L plates and take passengers, it was great fun for a 16 year old and spent a lot of it's time on two wheels, especially with my hard cornering, happy days.;)
One of our younger lads - what am I talking about, I was a young lad back in those days! - anyway, he had a Bond Minicar. A 3 wheeled device with a two stroke air cooled engine and very small looking wheels - it had no reverse gear. I can confirm the attraction of such devices was you could drive them on a motorcycle license. When I was into my Hillman Imps I always fancied a Bond 875 which used the Imp engine - and probably made it far too fast for it's own good! At that time I was offered an ex fire service water pump (it was powered by the Coventry Climax engine which was the basis of the Imp's engine) I thought that was a step too far though and didn't buy it.