General 'Leave well alone...' ?

Currently reading:
General 'Leave well alone...' ?

This is a good old adage...
I'd bought some new points, and as the others had done around 30k(!) I thought it would be a good idea to change 'em...
I should say I've never done Panda points before - but fitting points is easy, right?
She was used for 2 yrs - serviced as and when - all was well (maybe the price of the points put me off changing sooner). She stood for 2 yrs - always started ok - charged battery from time to time.
Recently MOT'd and put back on road - no trouble. Tuesday, fitted new points... not run right since
fiddled with allen key that much yesterday that allen key is now in my pocket...
Today added new dist cap and rotor (bloomin' £20!!!) ...seems better but still does odd kangaroo hop, def like a LT problem but now wondering if HT lead from coil to dizzy could have been affected by unplugging it.
Used a bit of copper slip instead of that heat stuff for those little contacts opposite points but man where I got cap and rotor doesn't think it'll be that.
As I put a spot of oil on bob weights I took plate off again today and pulled a thin bit of card between points. Did this when fitting new cap and rotor so don't know if it's made any difference...
Can't see that fitting points would have disturbed condensor and had none of this before changing points...
have no way (other than static) of checking timing or dwell angle other than trial and error.
Tomorrow I'm going to fit a new fuel filter just to eliminate this...
argh... fusterating... :bang:

ha ha, yeah it's funny how we enter a world of superstition once they start acting up - the guy at the factors asked when I'd last changed the fuel filter... but how logical is it that it could suddenly be wrong just from changing the points? Nevertheless it's on my hit list :confused: